Lucky number 7.
7 days in a week
7 wonders of the world
7 continents in the sea
7 colors in a rainbow
7 spots on a ladybug
7 digits in a phone number
7 stars in the Big Dipper
This year is year 7.
Year 7, and life with my mister keeps getting better and better,
to the point where words can no longer be used to describe it,
and only and he and I can know the depth
of the joy we are rockin’ over here. :)
And because I really can’t find words to tell you about year 7
(you guys, life is so good),
I’m sharing this… it’s from The Velveteen Rabbit.
[I had a love/sob relationship with this book as a kid. Not much has changed.]
And a note to Mr. SW….
if nothing else has happened in 7 years of marriage,
we have undoubtedly
                       become real.
“What is real?” asked the Rabbit one day…
“Real isn’t how you are made,” said the Skin Horse.
“It’s a thing that happens to you.”
“Does it hurt?” asked the Rabbit.
“Sometimes,” said the Skin Horse.
“But when you are real,
        you don’t mind being hurt.”
“Does it happen all at once?”
“It doesn’t happen all at once,” said the Skin Horse.
“You become.
It takes a long time.
That’s why it doesn’t happen often
to people who break easily,
or have sharp edged, or who have to be carefully kept.
Generally, by the time you are real, most of your hair has been loved off,
and your eyes drop out, and you get loose in the joints and very shabby.
But these things don’t matter al all because once you are real,
you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”
Thank you for today because today marks 7 years of reflection and growth,
7 years of learning who you are, learning who I am, learning what real is.
7 years of laughing together at the year prior and our naiveté in thinking we’d figured out so much. :)
7 years of loving harder than the year before because we know no other way.
7 years of the absolute best we have both had to give,
all the while knowing the rest of our lives are set to be even better.
Thanks for loving me more as I become real…
for loving me when I get all shabby and my eyes drop out. :)
Read about year five, and also about year six.
And while you’re in, reading about year six, read all about us. 
There are 7 “chapters,” but it’s worth it, promise. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *